The Apple Award for excellence in publishing in SCI rehabilitation research

For the ninth consecutive year, the American Spinal Injury Association (ASIA) presented The Apple Award for excellence in publishing in spinal cord injury rehabilitation literature. This award is named in honor of David F. Apple, Jr, MD, founding member and past-president of ASIA. The award is co-sponsored by three entities that have been critically important to Dr. Apple during his long career in orthopaedic surgery: Shepherd Center in Atlanta, Georgia, where he served as founding medical director for 30 years and is currently emeritus medical director; the journal, Topics in Spinal Cord Injury Rehabilitation, of which he was editor- in- chief from 1994-2011; and ASIA.

The 2015 recipient of The Apple Award is Meegan G. Van Straaten, PT, MSPH, of the Motion Analysis Laboratory, Division of Orthopedic Research, Mayo Clinic in Rochester, MN. Her article, which appeared in Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, is entitled: Effectiveness of Home Exercise on Pain, Function, and Strength of Manual Wheelchair Users with Spinal Cord Injury: A High-Dose Shoulder Program with Telerehabilitation.” Her co-authors are: Beth A. Cloud, DPT; Melissa M. Morrow, PhD; Paula M. Ludewig, PhD, PT; and Kristin D. Zhao, PhD.

Previous recipients of The Apple Award are:

Jacquelyn Cragg, PhD

Ralph J. Marino, MD

Mark S. Nash, PhD

Christopher D. Pritchard, PhD

Anthony Dimarco, MD

James S. Krause, PhD

Christopher Patrick Smith, MD

MJ Mulcahey, PhD